Bay Oval

In the Media




Mount Maunganui College hosted a Year 9-10 T20 cricket tournament on Sunday and Monday 28th & 29th March 2021, named in honour of Bay of Plenty Cricket legend Mike Wright, who is an old boy of Mount College.

MJE Wright played 102 games in the Bay of Plenty uniform, from the 1966/67 season until retirement beckoned in 1990/91 season. Michael Wright still sits at the top of the BOPCA all-time runs with 3950 runs, with four centuries and 179 not out against Counties in the 1983/84 season.

Rangitoto College Raiders took out the inaugural Mike Wright T20 tournament, defeating Mount Maunganui College Mana in the final, under lights at the Bay Oval on Monday  (29 March 2021) evening.

The Auckland school batted first and reached 118 for the loss of four wickets. Max Neil and Logan Ferguson top scored with identical knocks of 27 not out, with Angus Tustin taking three wickets for the local representatives.

Raiders bowler Alec Waldron did plenty of damage grabbing four wickets for 9 runs, as Mount Maunganui College Mana were bowled out for 58, to hand Rangitoto College the inaugural Mike Wright title.

Rosmini College and Mount Maunganui Mana finished on equal points in pool one with Mount College winning the semi-final to progress to the inaugural Mike Wright T20 title decider.

Mount Maunganui College Mana, opened their tournament with two wins on day one in pool one, with Auckland visitors Rosimini College posting victory winning two from two encounters. In pool two, Rangitoto College Raiders defeated Mount Maunganui College Aroha and Katikati College Chargers, with Katikati College and Aquinas College finishing day one with a win apiece.

Wet weather saw just one round three game completed, with Cambridge High School setting St Peters a very large target in reaching 207 for the loss of seven wickets. Cambridge then restricted St Peters to 68/7 to claim a big 139 victory.

Mike Wright Year 9/10 T20 Finals

Grand Final: Rangitoto College Raiders 118/4 (Max Neil 27no, Logan Ferguson 27no; Austin Tustin 3/18) defeated Mount Maunganui College Mana 58 (Alex Waldron 4/9)

Semi-Final: Mount Maunganui College Mana defeated Rosmini College

Plate Playoffs

Cambridge HS 105/7 (Cameron Cross 45) defeated Aquinas College 63/7 (Will Syme 23)

St Peters School 96/7 defeated Mount Maunganui College Aroha 63

Pool One

Round One (28 March 2021)

St Peters School 37 (Fraser Tustin 3/3, Angus Tustin 3/6) lost to Mount Maunganui College Mana 38/3

Rosmini College 121/9 Jayden Clarke 30, Eli Paterson 3/33) defeated Cambridge HS 115/8

Round Two (28 March 2021)

Cambridge HS 83 (Angus Tustin 3/7) lost to Mount Maunganui College Mana 85/5 (Angus Tustin 24)

Rosmini College 154/5 (Radeesha Da Silva 57, Fergus Maling 31) defeated St Peters School 65/8

Round Three (29 March 2021)

Cambridge HS 207/7 (Rayhan Perris 47, Cameron Cross 36) defeated St Peters School 68/7

Rosmini College 0/0 – Mount Maunganui College Mana 0/0

Pool Two

Round One (28 March 2021)

Rangitoto College Raiders 229/1 (Cooper Harrison-Tubb 53 retired, Connor Mccarthy-Morrogh 50 retired) defeated Mount Maunganui College Aroha 25/11 (Logan Ferguson 4/14, Alex Waldron 3/1)

Katikati College Chargers 145/2 (Flynn Warren 67no, Nishi Ravji 33) defeated Aquinas College 124/4 (Eli Banbury 52, Will Syme 25)

Round Two (28 March 2021)

Mount Maunganui College Aroha 56/9 (Ruben Syme 2/1) lost to Aquinas College 57/3

Katikati College Chargers 110/8 (Taurian McConnochie 34) lost to Rangitoto College Raiders 111/4 (Cooper Harrison-Tubb 41)

Round Three (29 March 2021)

Katikati College Chargers 0/0 – Mount Maunganui College Aroha 0/0

Rangitoto College Raiders 0/0 – Aquinas College 0/0

Thank you to our sponsors:

xeno web development